News Detail

An outstanding year for Josh and the RTO team 2016

Oct 13 2016

On the 13th October 2016 Josh Wanganeen won the teacher/trainer Wurreker award and VACSAL’s RTO was a runner up in the category of private RTO. Congratulations Josh and the RTO team for an outstanding achievement. Josh has been a co-faciliator for the Certificate III and IV in Community Services Work with VACSAL since the beginning and is also a lead facilitator in VACSAL’s Aboriginal Cultural Awareness Training (ACAT). Josh is currently studying a dual Bachelor of Arts majoring in Psychology with Deakin University and has completed a Certificate IV in TAE. VACSAL’s RTO has successfully been delivering qualifications in community services work since 2014. Dr Alf Bamblett’s vision was to have an RTO where cultural integrity is at the heart of every learning journey.


The Victorian Koorie Community celebrates success in Vocational Education and Training at the annual Wurreker Awards Ceremony

The 13th Annual VAEAI Wurreker Awards were celebrated on Thursday

13th October, at the Aborigines Advancement League in Thornbury, Melbourne.Hostedby the Aboriginal Education Association Incorporated (VAEAI), in partnership with Higher Education and Skills Group, Department of Education and Training (DET),the event was attended by

Over 200 people, including nominees, invited guests, and Ms Katy Haire, Acting Secretary for Victorian Department of Education and Training.


The Wurreker Awards are held annually to celebrate the success of the Koorie community in  vocational education and training. The awards acknowledge individuals who have achieved  outstanding results in their chosen areas of knowledge and expertise. They also recognise

and celebrate training providers, community and organisations who are working to create real outcomes for Koories learners and communities.


Geraldine Atkinson, President of VAEAI, spoke about how the awards

are testament to the ways in which high quality training can open up new directions for Koorie people , highlighting that the new Aboriginal Education Plan, Marrung, would provide further support to Koorie learners.


Congratulations to all the winners in the following categories:


·       Public Sector Employee Award

·       Private Sector Employee Award

·       Community Based Employee Award

·       Dr Mary Atkinson – Koorie Organisation Award

·       Community Based Employer

·       TAFE Institute Award

·       Local Government Award

·       Private Sector Employer Award

·       University Award

·       Learn Local Award

·       Private RTO Award

·       Public Sector Employer Award

·       Special Recognition Award